Let’s Introduce Ourselves

Trisagion School Forums Typikon 101 – Fall 2023 Term 3 Let’s Introduce Ourselves

Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      Peter George
      Keymaster

Hi Everyone! I’d like to use this space as a place where we can introduce ourselves. Let everyone know your name, your parish, your chanting experience and what you hope to gain from this class.

I’ll start: My name is Peter George and I go to St. Mark of Ephesus in Westwood, MA. I’ve been chanting since I was 16 years old and I have been the Lampadarios in my parish since 2009. In 2014, I received my certificate in Byzantine Chant from Holy Cross Seminary in Brookline, MA.

My passion for the Typikon comes from my old parish priest, who used to make us create the services “from scratch,” that is, using the service books alone. I was blown away by the complexity of the service order and its variation based on the date, but also began to realize that our services are not one unified system, but rather a collection of hymns and rubrics pulled from different places and eras. The Typikon puts all these together into a beautiful tapestry that we can appreciate today. I hope to share and pass this passion along to you, along with the practical ability to build services to help the worship at your parishes.

Hello everyone!
        My name is Agatha Carnazzo, I am 16 yrs old, and I have been Orthodox all my life. I lead the chanting, along with my sister Natalia, at our church St. Elias, where my father is the Priest. My whole life is centered around learning as much as I can about our rich orthodox tradition, studying rubrics, and chanting the beautiful hymns of the Apostolic church. I took this class about a year ago, and enjoyed it so much that I wanted to take it again. I am also currently taking 201.

Jamie Tarasidis
        Participant