Current Status
Not Enrolled
Price
225
Get Started
This course is currently closed

3rd Term Course: Registration is CLOSED

This course functions as an introduction to the slow melismatic (“papadic”) genre of Byzantine Chant. Students will study the characteristics of each mode’s papadic form and will focus on one representative composition of each mode in this genre. Repertoire will be analyzed in terms of modal theory/intervals, melodic structure/morphology, liturgical execution, and other related topics.

Class Dates: 3rd Term 2020 (August 31- October 24, 2020)
Live Practice Sessions:Tuesdays at 8 PM ET/5 PM PT and Thursdays at 9 PM ET/6 PM PT